School of Nursing

New Department


The Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center (LSUHSC) is accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Nursing programs are approved by the Louisiana State Board of Nursing and accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education. The LSUHSC School of Nursing Doctor of Nursing Practice Nurse-Midwifery Concentration is preaccredited by the Accreditation Commission for Midwifery Education (ACME), 8403 Colesville Road, Suite 1550, Silver Spring, MD 20190, ACME is a specialized accrediting body recognized by the U.S. Department of Education. The program had its onsite review by ACME in March, 2022. The program was awarded preaccreditation status until July 31, 2025. Graduates from a program that had preaccreditation status at the time of their admission are eligible to take the national certification exam and become a certified nurse-midwife.

The Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Master of Science in Nursing, and Doctor of Nursing Practice programs at LSUHSC School of Nursing are accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education, 655 K Street, NW, Suite 750, Washington, DC 20001, 202-887-6791.